Having problems? Please mail us at aosborne@wheatworld.org


The 2022 National Wheat Yield Contest rules are out! New is a recognition of Industry-desired Quality. There are targets by class of wheat in the 2022 rules, take a look and try to raise both high yield and high quality wheat!

The 24 National Winners categories remain the same. These 24 winners’ grain will be analyzed for quality and if the targets are all met, the winner will receive an additional $500! The prize for the 24 winners is a trip to the Commodity Classic in Orlando, FL in March 2023 and recognition at a winner’s reception. The 2022 contest will be open for registration in January.

(Note: National Winners who do not travel to Commodity Classic will not receive the cash value of their foregone travel expenses)

The Contest National Awards will be determined on two levels to improve the competitiveness of the Contest.

  1. Yield basis with no regard for USDA county averages.The Contest will select the highest yielding entry from each State for each category. From this group of entries, National winners will be selected based on the highest yield.
  2. The percentage increase by which their measured yield exceeds the most recent 5-year olympic county average, published annually by USDA. This level is the same as in the past years. It serves to level the playing field for those growers producing wheat in low yielding regions.

(Each grower can only win one National Award as in past years.)

Each contest entry must be Grade 1 or 2, but a grain sample will not be mailed in. Each contestant should get their grain graded at a local elevator and upload Grade verification to their harvest entry. 6 lb sample of the grain must be kept, and that sample will be shipped if you are a national winner. If no sample is kept, you cannot be a national winner.

The Contest features two primary competition categories: winter wheat and spring wheat, plus two subcategories: dryland and irrigated. There are 24 National Award opportunities for wheat growers.Each of the 24 winners can also win $500 for industry desired quality!

National Contest Awards

National Award Winner Categories For 2022 Contest
Category % Above USDA County Avg High Yield Basis
Winter Wheat Dryland 1st – 5th Bin Buster plus 1st - 5th
Winter Wheat Irrigated -- Bin Buster plus 1st - 2nd
Spring Wheat Dryland 1st – 3rd Bin Buster plus 1st – 3rd
Spring Wheat Irrigated -- Bin Buster plus 1st – 2nd
  • Irrigated entries will be determined on a yield basis only.

These winners from each category & subcategory will be recognized at the wheat reception during the 2022 Commodity Classic to be held March 10-12, 2022 in New Orleans, LA. More detail is provided in the Contest Rules provided on this log in page.

You must be a member in good standing of a recognized state wheat grower association (or NAWG if from a state without a state wheat grower association) before completing and submitting the NWYC Entry Form. NWYC Entry and Harvest Report Forms, entry payments and weigh tickets must be submitted electronically on this website. NO PAPER ENTRY AND HARVEST FORMS OR CHECKS WILL BE ACCEPTED. Please read all National Wheat Yield Contest Rules and Procedures located on this registration - log in page before submitting your entry form and payment. There will be no entry payment refunds. Thanks for your interest in the NWYC and good luck!

If you have any questions about the Contest Rules and processes, you can reach me through email or phone.
Email – aosborne@wheatworld.org
Phone – 701-368-9815.

Our Sponsors
Grade 1
Grade 2
Grade 3
Grade 4
Grade 5